[TRANS] 130621 JUNSU “HE’S BACK” – Marie Claire July 2013 Special Edition Part 2

Part 2 – Final


What stands out in Kim Junsu’s songs is his emotion.

From a long time ago, I always believed that the most important thing to music is emotion. Whatever timbre or technique you have, I believe it’s a good song when emotions fit that song well.

As you go on in life, and as you grow older, emotions die easier than you think. It seems that artists always need something to stimulate their emotions, what is the thing that helps you keep your emotions stimulated and intact?

That’s right. As you grow older you change into a realist, and with that you can lose your imagination or your sense of challenge. That is fatal to an artist. Ironically, however, I think the experiences I’ve gained while getting older protect my emotions. While I’m doing music, my own story comes up. Singing is like acting. You have to fall into it to do it. If it’s music with lyrics about getting someone, I think that you have to sing with the intent of really seducing someone.

What do musicals mean for Kim Junsu?

Mozart! has the meaning of being the work that allowed me to stand on stage again. After experiencing a huge hardship in 2009, I was very hurt personally, instead of being scared of the stage I was scared of the world. Although that was frustrating and sad, I realized through this work that the place I could stand on again was the stage. Also, I felt like the musical numbers were speaking to my heart, and doing the dark story of Mozart, a genius musician who captivated the whole world, became a good opportunity for me as an artist.

Continue reading